During this week at IABC’s World Conference, several attendees who are not members of IABC asked me why I belong and stay so involved. Three words: it’s the community.


The IABC Second Line heads to the Opening Reception at the 2016 IABC World Conference; follow the tuba!

This community is rejuvenating, rewarding, educational and inspiring. Sometimes, the community has been frustrating; it’s a little like any other relationship. But I can count many friends borne out of┬ámy IABC experience.

Some in the community are clients, others are important project collaborators, while still others serve as sounding boards.

This year, my community expanded to include an amazing group of talented and committed people on the Program Advisory Team. I want to recognize their contributions to making #IABC16 a success:

  • Raji Anand
  • Maliha Aqueel
  • Amanda Atkinson
  • Adiki Ayitevie
  • Kim Bates
  • Elaine Beliakoff
  • Tori Bell
  • John Deveney, Fellow, ABC, APR
  • Victoria Dew
  • Erin Dick
  • Pixie Emslie, Fellow, ABC
  • Chuck Gose
  • Rauf Hameed
  • Kristin Hancock
  • Maureen Healey, ABC, CAE
  • Dana Higgins
  • Tammy Kusama
  • Marilea Lara
  • Preston Lewis
  • Karen McCarthy, APR
  • Sarah McLaughlin
  • Jane Mitchell
  • Allyson Neal
  • Janie Rutherford
  • Laine Santana
  • Amelia Schofield
  • Laura Stuart
  • Shea Sullivan

Thank you to each of you. Thank you also to staff and IABC leadership. It’s been a fabulous parade!